Braised Okra with Homemade Teriyaki Sauce

I seldom buy okra before I move to live in UK.  It is because it is quite expensive and sometimes it is not fresh. I am happy that I can always buy cheaper and fresh okra here. Okra is fast gaining a reputation as a so-called ‘superfood’ for people with or at risk of diabetes or cancer.  It contains potassium, vitamin B, vitamin C, folic acid and calcium.  Also it is low in calories and has high dietary fibre content.  I like it very much.

 Yesterday I went shopping at Tesco and bought a bag.  It is very fresh and green.  Since I did not want to miss the train, I made a very simple and quick lunch.  It just took me six minutes to cook this yummy dish.

 Preparation time: 3 minutes

Cooking time: 3 minutes

Serve: 1

Ingredients:

  • 90g okra      braised-okra-5
  • 1 tsp olive oil
  • 40ml water
  • 1 tbsp wine
  • dried skipjack tuna flakes (optional)

 

Teriyaki Sauce:

  • 1 tbsp soy sauce
  • 1½ tbsp mirin
  • ½ tbsp brown sugar

 

Method:

 

1. Clean and peel off the skin of the head of each okra. 
   

2. In a small mixing bowl, mix all ingredients well to prepare teriyaki sauce.  Set aside.
   
3. Use a small knife to make some small cuts on each okra.
   Braised okra 8.jpg
4. Heat oil in a non-stick pan over medium heat. 
   
5. Spread the okra evenly on the pan, add water and teriyaki sauce. Cover and simmer for 1 minute.
   

6. Flip the okra to another side and add wine.  Reduce heat to low-medium.  Then cover and simmer for a further 1 minute.  Remove from heat. 
   Braised okra 4.jpg
7. Sprinkle with dried skipjack tuna flakes on top of okra and ready to serve with rice.
   Braised okra 3.jpg

 

7 Comments Add yours

  1. Such a great way of preparing okra. Looks delicious! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Fun Fun Cook says:

      Thank you! Have a nice weekend!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. You know I have never cooked with Okra. Next time I see them I’m going to make this recipe.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Fun Fun Cook says:

      Thank you! Have a nice weekend!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Sandhya says:

    I love okra and this is another way for me to try it!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I love okra! I can’t wait for it to be in season again in the summer. This sounds like a wonderful quick and easy preparation. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Fun Fun Cook says:

      I am happy if you try the recipe and share your comments. Cheers!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

